Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Advent 12

Well I didn't manage a post every day - didn't really think I would and once real life kicked in I haven't really been inspired to find or write anything. The hope this week was to build on the John the Baptist texts and think about preparation - not one of my strong points unless a deadline is upon me - yet I seem to have spent this week preparing stuff. Monday was a quick visit to Coventry to pick some colours for the house and measure the rooms - which has then led into some head scratching wondering how we can fit our furniture into a smaller house. I was then back for two Elders meetings that evening, whose agenda's were making plans for me not being around. Two funerals brings more preparation and another one for next week. And tomorrow is our Christingle - always good fun - but that only comes from preparation and I think I know what I'm doing, with a bit of room for an ad lib.

However, nothing to do for Sunday as Lessons & Carols look after themselves and are looked after by the Choir - just a shame about two carol services I need to go to in the evening - no joy. This is where we give in to an overriding desire to ignore the difficult themes of Advent and race on to the nice cute themes of Christmas (whilst of course ignoring the difficult themes of Christmas - perhaps we will look at some of them here)

So time for some more preparation ...

The comments are closed.