Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Sabbatical Dawns

First day of my sabbatical, it's 6am and I'm eating my breakfast. The plan had been my usual slow Monday morning, listen to the Test match, watch the Tour de France, order some books, make some plans, write an opening summary for the blog ...

Instead I'm going to Milngavie (village north east of Glasgow for the geographically challenged) to attend the funeral of my Uncle G. It is just over seven weeks since I last saw him, at my Aunt's funeral - he didn't look well and you wondered how long he would be with us - but thoughts and prayers with my cousins K,M,N & A and their families who have lost their Mother and Father in quick succession - however much it was expected, however strong their faith that death is not the end, today and the days that follow will not be easy.

Uncle G was a great man of faith, I know that he has always held me and my family and my ministry in his prayers. I thank him for that and for so much more and trust that he rests with God.

They gave me a bible for my 21st birthday, with the text 2 Timothy 2:15 "Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth." (NIV) I think they had an idea about what I would be doing with my life ... prayerful, encouraging hope-filled, the pair of them.

Be Blessed

Comments

  • Thinking of you and your wider family in this time of parting and grief. Your Uncle G sounds a wise man - I pray your memories will be a source of comfort in the days ahead.

The comments are closed.