Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Hallfold 20 November 2005 (with pm repeat at Bamford)

Matthew 25:31-46

Our Gospel reading is about belonging to the kingdom of heaven - more than that it is about inheriting There is a link here to beatitudes where we are told that the meek/poor in spirit will inherit the earth. Here it is those quietly getting on with the work of the kingdom who will inherit - when I was hungry...

Day of Judgement is perhaps something we get uncomfortable with, the days of fire and brimstone - scaring people into the kingdom seem to be behind us, but here is reminder that it is part of the tradition. Perhaps one day we will stand before God and need to give an account of our life - our stated belief, our sound doctrine, our eloquent theological arguments, our faithful attendance at Church will count for nothing. How have you put faith into action? Will God say to us you fed me or you did not feed me; you gave me something to drink or you let me thirst.; you welcomed me or you ignored me; you clothed me or you left me naked; You cared for me or you did not care; you visited me or you left me to rot. If you were to stand before God today - what would be the judgement on your life?

How do you react when faced with need? No doubt many have given to Children in Need, to the various DEC appeals; you will support our Advent Charities, but is such remote giving the easy option? What about a real person, standing in front of you, in real need. What are we going to do for destitute refugees who have come to our town seeking a safe place, a welcome and find themselves with no money, no food, no shelter?

The motives of those who inherit the kingdom are pure - they respond naturally, compassionately without realising their behaviour is special. Perhaps some of us are more calculating - we don’t fancy that Day of Judgement. But when people are in real need our motives for helping don’t really matter - what matters is doing something, making sure that the hungry are fed, the thirst given something to drink, the stranger is welcomed, the naked are clothed, the sick are cared; the prisoners visited. Give a present to someone who really needs it this Christmas.

The comments are closed.